GF Pizza Crust – BAD, but could get better


So, I started my first foray into the world of gluten-free pizza crust, and went to Marlene’s in Tacoma to sift through the GF selections. There were a few options available, many in very large bags that were incredibly expensive for my first attempt. I found Bob’s Red Mill GF Pizza Crust Mix in a moderately sized bag and decided to pick some up and try it out.

Some words of advice for those who will be following my attempt: do not simply follow the directions on the bag.

It cooked up fine, the edges were crispy and brown but it tasted terrible. The directions on the box just call for eggs, water, yeast, etc. No seasoning or spice. The result? Crust and pizza that taste suspiciously of yeast. GROSS.

As I said, the crust cooks up fine and it looked amazing, but the overpowering taste of yeast was unbearable. The crispy pieces of the crust that were browned tasted fine. I am thinking about using the crust to make some pretzle-like bites which I will talk about in a future blog post.

So, in short. The crust mix itself seems to be a good choice – if the ingredients are more diverse and some seasoning is added in. When I can stomach making the attempt again, I will let you know what mix makes the best crust. If you have added some seasoning into your own attempts, please leave a comment here so everyone can benefit from your trial and error.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Daily Life, Good or Bad...

Leave a Reply

