GF Alcohol – Happy New Year!


Well, even though I’m not a big drinker myself, in honor of
the holiday I figured I would post a list of gluten free alcohol
that is available for those with celiac disease. The most complete
list I found was originally published in 1996 by Scott
Adams
, and I would like to thank him for his thorough
research to make such a comprehensive listing. As he says on his
list, “please note that ingredients in the products on this page
are subject to change without notice. The products on this page
were safe when last checked. It is up to you to verify that the
product remains gluten-free by checking the ingredients yourself,
or by contacting the manufacturer. All distilled alcohols are
gluten-free.” And…on to the list…enjoy:

  • Armagnac – made from grapes.
  • Beer –
    A number of premium and craft brewers now produce specialty grain gluten-free beers using
    non-gluten ingredients such as buckwheat, sorghum, rice, corn, etc.
    Not all the beers listed below use specialty grains, and some of them have had the
    gluten removed using special filters and/or enzymes, and in such cases they may not
    be 100% gluten-free (although each claims to test below 20 PPM
    gluten).

    • Against the Grain, World Top Brewery
      (United Kingdom)
    • Bards Tale Dragons Gold,
      Bard’s Tale Beer Company (USA)
    • BeerUp
      Glutenfrei, Grieskirchen (Austria)
    • Birra 76
      Bi-Aglut, Heineken Italy (Italy)
    • Blonde (also
      Ginger and Apple Beers), Billabong Brewing (Australia)
    • Daura, Estrella Damm (Spain)
    • G-Free,
      St. Peter’s Brewery (United Kingdom)
    • Green’s
      Endeavour Dubble, Green’s (United Kingdom)
    • Koff I, Sinebrychoff (Finland)
    • Lammsbräu, Neumarkter (Germany)
    • Messagère, Les bières de la Nouvelle-France
      (Canada)
    • Mongozo’s exotic flavorded pilsners
      (The Netherlands)
    • New Grist, Lakefront Brewery
      (USA)
    • Nodogoshi, Kirin (Japan)
    • O’Brien Brown Ale, O’Brien Brewery (Australia)
    • Passover Honey Beer, Ramapo Valley (USA)
    • RedBridge, Anheuser-Busch (USA)
    • Residenz Bio-Reis-Gold Dunkel, Liebharts
      (Germany)
    • Schnitzer Bräu (Germany)
    • Sorghum Molasses Brown, Outer Banks (USA)
    • Toleration, Hambleton (United Kingdom)
    • Tread Lightly Ale and 3R Raspberry Ale, New Planet
      (USA)
    • Tumma Kukko, Laitilan
      (Finland)
  • Bourbon –
    Makers Mark
  • Brandy
  • Champagne
  • Cider – fermented from apples or other fruits. Some are
    safe, however, many add barley for enzymes and flavor.

    • Old Deadly Cider
  • Cognac – made from
    grapes.
  • Gin
  • Grappa
  • Kahlua
  • Kirschwasser (cherry liqueur)
  • Margarita Mix:
    • Jose
      Cuervo.
    • Mr. &
      Mrs. T.
  • Martini:
    • Club Extra Dry
      Martini
      (corn & grape).
    • Club Vodka Martini (corn &
      grape).
  • Mead –
    distilled from honey.
  • Mistico:
    • Jose Cuervo Mistico (agave and
      cane).
  • Mixes &
    Cooking Alcohol:

    • Club Tom
      Collins
      (corn).
    • Dimond
      Jims Bloody Mary Mystery.
    • Holland House – all EXCEPT Teriyaki
      Marinade and Smooth & Spicy Bloody Mary Mixes.
    • Mr. & Mrs. T – all Except
      Bloody Mary Mix.
    • Spice
      Islands
      – Cooking Wines – Burgundy, Sherry and
      White.
  • Ouzo – made
    from grapes and anise.
  • Rum
  • Sake – fermented with rice and Koji enzymes. The Koji
    enzymes are grown on Miso, which is usually made with barley. The
    two-product separation from barley, and the manufacturing process
    should make it safe for celiacs.
  • Scotch
    Whiskey
  • Sherry
  • Sparkling
    Wine
  • Tequila
  • Vermouth –
    distilled from grapes.
  • Vodka
  • Wine – all wines, including port wines and sherry, are
    safe for celiacs.
  • Wine Coolers:
    • Bartle & James – their
      wine-based beverages (EXCEPT their malt beverages – read the label
      carefully!).
    • Boones
      their wine-based beverages (EXCEPT their malt beverages – read the
      label carefully!)

Have a safe, happy, gluten free New Year everyone!

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating Out, Friends and Family, Nutrition

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s