Learning to run


I’m sure that “learning” to run seems like a silly title – most of us have been running since early childhood – but I have always been a terrible runner. Not only in the way I look while running (which Hubby says looks noticeably different from other people when they run) but I also get exhausted in a ridiculously short period of time.

Part of the problem, I feel, is that before I was diagnosed with celiac and stopped eating gluten I felt sick and lethargic most of the time. I’m also on the slightly heavier side: not Biggest Loser contestant material, but definitely above average.

As mentioned in a previous post, now that I’ve been gluten free for 6 months, I am training for a 5k. This week was one I was dreading: jumping from running 6 minutes (over a 30-minute span) to 12 minutes. Yikes. I was really struggling with my 2-minute increments so 4 minutes together seemed impossible. So, I read up on running and learned that I was running too fast. As a beginner, you should still be able to talk while jogging and not be “huffing and puffing” through the run. I reduced from 6.0 to 5.5 on the treadmill and (tada) success.

Reading up on running is helping me to achieve my goals. Hopefully I will start to look like a “normal person” when I’m running soon too! What is your best running tip?

2 Comments

Filed under Changes, Daily Life

2 responses to “Learning to run

  1. Jordan

    Learn to exhale on every other left foot hitting the ground. This keeps side aches away on the right. Exhale on every other right foot to eliminate left side aches. Seems hard at first, but it becomes habit quickly. (this is one reason why the army calls cadence on the left foot while running)

    • Wow, that is really interesting. What I read about breathing is to do “deep belly breathing” instead of from the chest, and to inhale for three steps and exhale for two steps. Is that similar to what you’re saying or is the count different? Did you notice a change in your running from when you incorporated this at boot camp as opposed to what you had been doing at home previously?

Leave a Reply

