Betty Crocker – GF Mixes


Recently, there have been a lot of new gluten free options in the stores (hallelujah!) including 4 mixes from Betty Crocker. I have tried all 4, and I like them all in varying degrees. However, none of them taste like healthy food – which many gluten free options.

Side Rant: my purchasing of gluten free doesn’t necessarily mean that I want health food – I may want something greasy and I don’t necessarily think tofu is a delicious substitute for everything.

So, one of the things I really like about Betty Crocker, Bisquick, Chex, Rice Krispies, Quaker and others having gluten free options is that they have to taste good enough that someone picking them up off the shelf accidentally (thinking they are regular) won’t eat it and think “Holy moly, Betty Crocker’s standards are really sliding! This chocolate cake tastes awful and the consistency is super weird…”

So, there are currently four varieties of mix available from Betty Crocker – chocolate chip cookie, brownie, yellow cake and chocolate cake. Here are my thoughts on each:

  • Chocolate chip cookie: I have never been a huge fan of chocolate chip cookies (I know, I know) so I didn’t love these. And, I have had a couple of instant bake (one at a time so you don’t have to make a whole batch!) chocolate chip cookies that I liked better. However, these are good enough when you want to make cookies and other non-GF people will eat and like them.
  • Brownie: The brownies were pretty good. I find that the intense chocolate flavor in GF items masks the consistency differences most of the time, so they were pretty tasty. However, I like a nice fluffy brownie, and these were a little more dense. It is possible that I was so excited to eat a brownie that I didn’t mix them properly…you could have better luck.
  • Yellow cake: Like I said, chocolate is the easiest to do with GF, but this cake was still pretty good. I made it and people liked it. They didn’t eat it and instantly think “healthy” or “something is off” which is really the goal.
  • Chocolate cake: This was awesome. I made these for a party and had a whipped frosting on them – people thought they tasted like the Hostess cupcakes you buy in the store, but better. Non GF eaters had more than one and they were gone pretty much instantly. Definite home run.

So, in my mind, Betty Crocker mixes are a GOOD choice. Have you tried these with different results? Did you like or dislike them?

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Daily Life, Friends and Family, Good or Bad...

Leave a Reply

