What Would It Take?


A question I often get asked is, “Is there anything that you miss so much that if you had the opportunity to eat it you would break your gluten free lifestyle?” For me, the answer is no. There is nothing I miss so much that it is worth getting sick or killing my intestines (I do miss funnel cakes when I go to the fair though!)

I am curious how other people feel about this. Would you ever break your gluten free diet for that “one thing”? If so, what is it and why? Do you do this already? Why or why not?

17 Comments

Filed under Changes, Daily Life, Eating Out, Friends and Family, Nutrition

17 responses to “What Would It Take?

  1. Amanda

    No way! There are things i miss like great pizza, but not worth it!

  2. No. I had very quick results after making the initial lifestyle changes. I was very sick, now I am incredibly healthy. No turning back for me. In fact I really don’t even think about it.

  3. The only thing I seriously miss are bakewell tarts… the GF versions are pretty good though thankfully! But again, it’s not worth trading the quality of life sans gluten for the things I miss.

    Pancakes are very easy to make! 1 egg, 100g GF flour and 300ml of milk… I know the recipe off by heart 🙂

  4. I’m “new” to celiac (or, at least, to knowing I have it), but for me, the answer is already no no NO. I know from having tried (what I thought was) a strict GF diet in the past that six weeks with some minor slip-ups was not enough to feel better. That means now that I know I really have it, I must be perfect. Or as perfect as any of us can be. Looking forward to (hopefully) seeing it pay off, because I’ll be passing up a whole lot of chocolates that “may contain wheat” in a few days!

    • I totally understand where you are coming from Molly. If you read one of my early posts on cross-contamination, you will see why! Good luck an thanks for commenting on my blog!

      • I will definitely check those out! Thanks! 🙂

      • Of course! And, since I’ve been doing this for a few years now, feel free to ask me any questions you may have. I’m happy to help!

      • Thank you again! 🙂 Totally unrelated to the topic of this post, but one question that I keep wanting to ask of everyone I come across who has celiac is, “Is it true you can get ‘glutened’ from kissing someone who has eaten or drunk something with gluten?” I guess I have Valentine’s on the brain! Has this ever happened to you or anyone you know, or is it taking the cross-contamination anxiety too far? (As far as WHO it would take for me to kiss them even if it wasn’t safe…well, Matt Damon, maybe.)

      • I haven’t been cross-contaminated this way, but I am careful to avoid it. My husband is very aware of the risk and I will not share cups or straws with him or my son if they’ve been eating gluten. Considering 1/4 of a tsp is enough to cause a reaction for those with celiac (and there would definitely be more than that in someone’s saliva if they had been eating or drinking something with gluten, I can’t imagine why this wouldn’t be true.

      • And, I like your call on Matt Damon. I’m not sure for me…Bradley Cooper? Or, of course, my hubs. 😉

  5. Good question. As I was super sick for quite a while before getting diagnosed, I developed a sort of hate relationship with some of my previous favorites. They just remind me of sickness and pain so I don’t crave them anymore.

    I remember “grieving” a bit for some foods after the diagnosis, it was quite a grand thought to take in, never tasting bread again in my life etc. But I don’t even think about it now. It’s a non-topic emotionally.

    The only thing that gets me is when I’m super hungry, all set to eat and it turns out I can’t have the meal anyway. That sometimes almost brings me to tears haha

    • I know what you mean theglutenfree! Especially when everyone is hungry and you sit at a restaurant that brings you all bread to start with and you get to just watch everyone else eat. That’s a bummer.

Leave a Reply

