I have heard people complain when they see a food that is “obviously” gluten free advertise this information on their packaging. Their argument is usually something about consumers being smart enough to “know” that mustard or frozen peas are gluten free just by their nature.
For someone with celiac disease, 1/4 tsp of gluten in 24 hours is enough to cause a reaction. Since gluten is more than just “wheat” (wheat, barley and rye) how do you really know? Maybe, someone thought barley malt added a nice flavor to that mustard – or lightly dusted those peas with flour to make them less likely to stick together. Or, if they were in a facility that processes wheat, that could be enough.
I like seeing “gluten free” on any label because to me, it means the company at least thought about it. Of course, seeing the certified gluten free logo means it is absolutely the one to buy.
For me, if one product (regardless of what it is) says “gluten free” on the packaging and the one next to it doesn’t – there is no question which one i will buy. And, I will probably talk about it here on my blog.
I say, no question. If your product is truly gluten free and you make an effort to ensure that – put it on the packaging. If its not gluten free and you just slap it on there…beware the wrath of angry celiacs everywhere.
Where do you stand on this debate?