Gluten Free for Your Dog


20130303-101733.jpg

So, if I wasn’t gluten free myself, I never would have thought about needing a GF option for this little lady, but when she was always sick and had uncontrollable itching, I started doing some research. In addition to the human counterparts, dogs can be very intolerant to gluten. This article has some good info on the type of symptoms dogs can have from eating gluten. I love that this vet figured it out when he was diagnosed with celiac disease!

Like a dog in the article, my Pomeranian would scratch until her skin was bloody she itched so much. We tried medicated shampoo and hypoallergenic shampoo and tons of other remedies, when I suggested to my hubby we try going gluten free. He thought I was crazy at first, but it had made a world of difference.

In addition, my dog never seemed to like eating and would throw up all the time. And I mean all the time. now that she has switched to GF, she likes to eat and almost never throws up.

Now, all her food and treats are GF (which makes me feel good about in a cross-contamination sense as well) and she is 500% better. For Coach, we buy Natural Choice food and Wag More Bark Less dog treats. There are many wheat an gluten free options for animals, so find one that your dog likes and see how it goes! Like anything GF, it’s a little expensive, but totally worth it.

Is your dog gluten free or have you thought about a gluten free diet for your dog? How is it going?

6 Comments

Filed under Changes, Daily Life, Friends and Family

6 responses to “Gluten Free for Your Dog

  1. Amanda

    My cat was gluten free before even i was! She’s completely grain free actually.

  2. Alyson

    Im seriously starting to wonder if gluten intolerance isnt transmissible somehow. Maybe they have it wrong when they say it is genetic. Maybe it runs in families because people inherit their gut bacteria from their family. And maybe our pets are picking up our gut bacteria from us somehow.

    I say this because I am someone with Celiac disease and several animals I have contact with have also developed an intolerance to wheat and gluten. My own cat died from his battle with it. Actually the effects of the treatments the vets gave him are the primary cause of his death, but he was in horrible shape and they kept insisting it could not possibly be the grains and I was dumb enough to listen.

    Something is definitely up with the possibility it is transmissible, because I have read several posts by Celiac owners whose pets also developed gluten intolerance.

    • Sorry to her that Alyson. I wouldn’t rule anything out with this disease, people just don’t know bough about it. On the other hand, gluten intolerance (in any form) is so common it isn’t surprising to have so many people impacted. Good luck on your journey.

Leave a Reply

