Crustless Gluten Free Quiche


20130309-210920.jpg
Today, I made my first quiche ever! It was crustless, simple and completely gluten free. Best part? The 9-year old liked it and ate it for dinner. Bonus! Here is the recipe:

5 eggs, beaten
16 oz. potatoes peeled and shredded (or thawed pkg. hash browns)
1 c. shredded cheese (I used mozzarella and pepper jack)
1/2 red onion, chopped
2 cups raw spinach, chopped
1/2 c. sour cream (or cottage cheese)
1/4 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. pepper
Dash chili paste (or hot sauce)
Paprika
6 slices cooked and crumbled bacon

Combine all except paprika and 1/3 of the bacon. Mix well. Pour into greased 9 inch pie plate. Sprinkle with paprika. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes or until set. Remove and sprinkle with remaining bacon. Bake 5 more minutes. Let set 5 minutes and serve.

It cut perfectly even on the first piece! Let me know if you like it or make any alterations. I wanted to add mushrooms, but the hubby hates them. Apparently, he also refuses to eat spinach so I could have included them. Next time I guess. 🙂

Do you have a quiche recipe you like?

8 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Daily Life

8 responses to “Crustless Gluten Free Quiche

  1. Alicia D

    It sounds delicious! Do you think this could be done by replacing a couple eggs with egg whites and using half the cheese and ricotta?

    • Hi Alicia! Yes, I think that could be done. You may just want to add a couple extra egg whites in and maybe a little cornstarch to add some stability. I’m sure it could be done. The potatoes create most of the form.

  2. Janet Rörschåch

    Good work. I’ve been thinking about a gf quiche. Years ago Graham Kerr (The Galloping Gourmet) devised a quiche with a rice crust. But you have given me an interesting idea. What if the crust were strawed sweet potatoes….

    • Hi Janet, thanks for the comment! I actually saw a recipe that did that. It is what started my interest in making a quiche, but I didn’t have any around and my hubby hates sweet potatoes so I opted to not try it this time. Let me know how it turns out!

  3. Dorcas

    How many servings does this quiche offer?

  4. Jessica

    Would it hold its form without potatoes? That’s the one thing I don’t have in the house!

    • The potatoes really do the heavy lifting on holding it all together. I think if you added some extra eggs and maybe some other veggies and a little cornstarch could help it stick together. It will be a completely different flavor though!

Leave a Reply

