When were you diagnosed with celiac disease?


I was diagnosed (officially) with celiac disease on July 30, 2010. It was a Friday. Yes, I remember the day and everything about the lead up to that moment when my doctor’s office called to confirm what I already knew – I had celiac.

Since then, I have been researching and writing and changing my life for the better. Around me, I hear from friends, family, acquaintances, people in the coffee shop, etc. that they or someone they know was just diagnosed and doesn’t know what to do next. Obviously, this has been around for years, but I hear all the time that it seems like diagnosis of celiac has been increasing dramatically in the last five years. It sounds right to me, but I wasn’t really aware of this before my diagnosis. I remember saying “You think I’m intolerant to…what?” When the nurse called me to discuss my blood work. I actually had to have her spell gluten for me. So funny to think how my life has changed. A word I had never heard of three years ago I say 10 times a day now.

Anyway, there was recently an article on the rate of diagnosis of celiac disease in the Huffington Post that contradicts what I have always heard since my diagnosis. It says it went up dramatically from 2004-2008 and has plateaued since then. The exact opposite of what I’ve heard.

I was diagnosed during “the plateau” and I’m curious how many of you were too. Please, let me know so we can test their theory.

Leave a comment

Filed under Changes, Medical Tests, What is Celiac Disease?

Leave a Reply

