For those of us that have been gluten free for a while, this seems like an obvious question. However, I want to make sure this blog helps everyone – especially the newly diagnosed – so I’m adding in some of the basics.
I get asked all the time by non-celiacers about different grains to see if I can eat them or not. Very commonly I get the question, “Can you eat rice?” Or, “Is rice gluten free?”
I remember when I was first diagnosed, when I started to hear what gluten was, I had the same thoughts. This also led to thoughts/questions about corn, potatoes, quinoa, spelt and many more. I will have more posts about those grains (and others) soon.
In short, yes, rice is gluten free. You are safe eating it, but watch out for accidental cross contamination. You done want to boil rice in a pot that just had whole wheat pasta or something. And, traditional soy sauce is not gluten free (neither is teriyaki sauce – which is comprised of soy sauce and other ingredients) but there are alternatives. I use gluten free tamari and can’t tell the difference. It is available at almost any grocery store in the Asian foods section.
So, eat all the rice you want and watch out with eating in Asian restaurants (because of the soy sauce). It isn’t traditional Chinese food, but PF Changs is a great option for gluten free. They use separate bowls and plates and cook with different pots and pans – gluten free shrimp fried rice is one of my favorites! They have complete meal options and a large gf menu.
Do you have any gluten free recipes using rice that you love?