For those of us that have been gluten free for a while, this seems like an obvious question. However, I want to make sure this blog helps everyone – especially the newly diagnosed – so I’m adding in some of the basics.
I get asked all the time by non-celiacers about different grains to see if I can eat them or not. Very commonly I get the question, “Can you eat rice?” Or, “Is rice gluten free?”
I remember when I was first diagnosed, when I started to hear what gluten was, I had the same thoughts. This also led to thoughts/questions about corn, potatoes, quinoa, spelt and many more. I will have more posts about those grains (and others) soon.
In short, yes, rice is gluten free. You are safe eating it, but watch out for accidental cross contamination. You done want to boil rice in a pot that just had whole wheat pasta or something. And, traditional soy sauce is not gluten free (neither is teriyaki sauce – which is comprised of soy sauce and other ingredients) but there are alternatives. I use gluten free tamari and can’t tell the difference. It is available at almost any grocery store in the Asian foods section.
So, eat all the rice you want and watch out with eating in Asian restaurants (because of the soy sauce). It isn’t traditional Chinese food, but PF Changs is a great option for gluten free. They use separate bowls and plates and cook with different pots and pans – gluten free shrimp fried rice is one of my favorites! They have complete meal options and a large gf menu.
Do you have any gluten free recipes using rice that you love?
I was diagnosed (officially) with celiac disease on July 30, 2010. It was a Friday. Yes, I remember the day and everything about the lead up to that moment when my doctor’s office called to confirm what I already knew – I had celiac.
Since then, I have been researching and writing and changing my life for the better. Around me, I hear from friends, family, acquaintances, people in the coffee shop, etc. that they or someone they know was just diagnosed and doesn’t know what to do next. Obviously, this has been around for years, but I hear all the time that it seems like diagnosis of celiac has been increasing dramatically in the last five years. It sounds right to me, but I wasn’t really aware of this before my diagnosis. I remember saying “You think I’m intolerant to…what?” When the nurse called me to discuss my blood work. I actually had to have her spell gluten for me. So funny to think how my life has changed. A word I had never heard of three years ago I say 10 times a day now.
Anyway, there was recently an article on the rate of diagnosis of celiac disease in the Huffington Post that contradicts what I have always heard since my diagnosis. It says it went up dramatically from 2004-2008 and has plateaued since then. The exact opposite of what I’ve heard.
I was diagnosed during “the plateau” and I’m curious how many of you were too. Please, let me know so we can test their theory.
Today, I made my first quiche ever! It was crustless, simple and completely gluten free. Best part? The 9-year old liked it and ate it for dinner. Bonus! Here is the recipe:
5 eggs, beaten
16 oz. potatoes peeled and shredded (or thawed pkg. hash browns)
1 c. shredded cheese (I used mozzarella and pepper jack)
1/2 red onion, chopped
2 cups raw spinach, chopped
1/2 c. sour cream (or cottage cheese)
1/4 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. pepper
Dash chili paste (or hot sauce)
6 slices cooked and crumbled bacon
Combine all except paprika and 1/3 of the bacon. Mix well. Pour into greased 9 inch pie plate. Sprinkle with paprika. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes or until set. Remove and sprinkle with remaining bacon. Bake 5 more minutes. Let set 5 minutes and serve.
It cut perfectly even on the first piece! Let me know if you like it or make any alterations. I wanted to add mushrooms, but the hubby hates them. Apparently, he also refuses to eat spinach so I could have included them. Next time I guess. 🙂
Do you have a quiche recipe you like?
So many people are talking about going gluten free these days, that many people assume it is just a fad diet and not a medical diagnosis. Here is an article from USA Today asking Is Gluten Free a Lifestyle or a Diet Craze?
What are your thoughts after reading it?
When you have celiac disease, you realize very quickly that gluten is in much more than just food. Things like medication, make up, and lotion can often contain this sneaky ingredient. I don’t know about you, but the ingredients list for most make up is like reading Greek to me. So, how do you know if the make up, medication, or anything else you are putting on or in your body is gluten-free?
The best solution I have found is to identify a company that believes in providing gluten-free products. When it comes to make up and body products Arbonne is (in my opinion) the best choice.
They disclose their ingredients in plain English and have full lists of what products are gluten-free, vegan, etc. almost everything is gluten free and all their products are high quality. The drawbacks? It is a bit pricey (high quality, as I said) and you can only buy it through an independent consultant (like Mary Kay). A friend of mine is a consultant and has her own website. Her name is Mindy and she does a great job thoroughly looking into gluten free and making sure everything is safe for those of us with celiac disease. Check it out.
Do you have any other brands that you recommend for GF makeup I should look into?
I have heard people complain when they see a food that is “obviously” gluten free advertise this information on their packaging. Their argument is usually something about consumers being smart enough to “know” that mustard or frozen peas are gluten free just by their nature.
For someone with celiac disease, 1/4 tsp of gluten in 24 hours is enough to cause a reaction. Since gluten is more than just “wheat” (wheat, barley and rye) how do you really know? Maybe, someone thought barley malt added a nice flavor to that mustard – or lightly dusted those peas with flour to make them less likely to stick together. Or, if they were in a facility that processes wheat, that could be enough.
I like seeing “gluten free” on any label because to me, it means the company at least thought about it. Of course, seeing the certified gluten free logo means it is absolutely the one to buy.
For me, if one product (regardless of what it is) says “gluten free” on the packaging and the one next to it doesn’t – there is no question which one i will buy. And, I will probably talk about it here on my blog.
I say, no question. If your product is truly gluten free and you make an effort to ensure that – put it on the packaging. If its not gluten free and you just slap it on there…beware the wrath of angry celiacs everywhere.
Where do you stand on this debate?
So, as Valentine’s Day is only a couple days away, I wanted to dedicate this post to gluten free candy. You can’t go in a grocery store this time of year without being bombarded with candy and chocolates galore – and many of us will give in to temptation, so it’s best to know what’s safe and what isn’t.
When I started to do some research for the post, I found an article on about.com that covered the topic very nicely. Instead of reinventing the wheel, I thought I would just link to it from here.
A couple of candies I love that didn’t make the list include:
– Hot Tamales which are gluten free according to the manufacturer, but it’s important to read packaging to ensure it was processed in a GF facility.
– Skittles which say gluten free on the packaging and I personally have never had a problem with.
– Swedish fish and sour patch kids are gluten free according to the manufacturer. And nothing says “I love you” like a red gummy fish. 🙂
For a full (possibly outdated) list of GF candy from the Celiac Disease Foundation. Have a safe and sweet holiday everyone! What is your favorite candy?